With your help, we will keep the current national conversation about race, justice, and economic equality going by honoring Lorraine Hansberry. We will add to the growing movement to honor women and people of color with physical monuments. And, we will alleviate the financial inequality that discourages women and non-binary playwrights of color from pursuing graduate degrees in her chosen art form.

Donate Now

The Lorraine Hansberry Initiative is a program of The Lilly Awards Foundation, a registered nonprofit 501(c)3 entity.

Donations are tax-deductible to the extent permitted by law.


We hope you will be part of honoring Lorraine Hansberry and increasing opportunity for the next generation of female and non- binary playwrights of color.

The Lillys welcome your support at all giving levels and offer custom packages including:

  • Sculpture Tour and Programming Support
  • Naming Opportunities on Scholarships
  • Event Leadership
  • City-Specific Support

To learn more about building a custom recognition package, please contact Julia Jordan, Executive Director of The Lillys at

The Lorraine Hansberry Initiative Leadership Council

David Binder
Michelle T. Boone
Lily Fan
Kamilah Forbes
Mandy Greenfield
Agnes Gund
Mamie Hansberry
Nantille Hansberry Charbonnet

Taye Hansberry
David Henry Hwang
Branden Jacobs-Jenkins
Alia Jones-Harvey
Julia Jordan
Anne Kauffman
Renee Landegger
Kenny Leon

Emily Mann
Jaimie Mayer
Stacey Mindich
Dominique Morisseau
Marsha Norman
Lynn Nottage
Antoinette Nwandu
Robert O’Hara

Imani Perry
Charles Randolph-Wright
LaTanya Richardson Jackson
Jane M. Saks
Jayne Baron Sherman
Seret Scott
Pauletta Washington
George C. Wolfe
Charlayne Woodard

Initiative Champions





Anonymous, Liz Armstrong, Lily Fan, Agnes Gund, Stacey Mindich,

Spencer Ross, Jayne Baron Sherman, Leslie Simpson, Daniel Ziff